Southwest Region

The SouthWest Region (French: Région du Sud-Ouest) is a region in Cameroon. Its capital is Buea.[2] As of 1987, its population was 838,042. Along with the Northwest Region, it is one of the two anglophone (English-speaking) regions of Cameroon,

The region is divided into six divisions or departments: Fako, Koupé-Manengouba, Lebialem, Manyu, Meme, and Ndian. These are in turn broken down into subdivisions.[3] Presidentially appointed senior divisional officers (prefets) and subdivisional officers (sous-prefets) govern each respectively.

The region was notable for having the first English-speaking university in Cameroon (the University of Buea),. Towns include the capital Buea, Limbe, Tiko, Kumba and Mamfe. Limbe in particular is a popular tourist resort notable for its fine beaches. Korup National Park is also a major attraction. Buea itself, meanwhile, sits at the foot of Mount Cameroon, and possesses an almost temperate climate markedly different from the rest of the province.

Location of Southwest Region within Cameroon
Country Cameroon
Capital Buea
Divisions Fako, Koupé-Manengouba, Lebialem, Manyu, Meme, Ndian
 • Governor Bernard Okalia B.
 • Total 25,410 km2 (9,810 sq mi)
Population (2015)
 • Total 1,553,320
 • Density 61/km2 (160/sq mi)
HDI (2017) 0.599[1]

Facebook, Instagram, Call us today

error: Content is protected !!
Open chat
Powered by
Les Charmes Du Cameroun