Littoral Region

(French: Région du Littoral) is a region of Cameroon. Its capital is Douala. As of 2004, its population was. Its name is due to the region being largely littoral, and associated with the sea coast.

In 2008, the President of the Republic of Cameroon, President Paul Biya signed decrees abolishing “Provinces” and replacing them with “Regions”. Hence, all of the country’s ten former provinces are now known as Regions.

The region is divided into four departments (départements):

  1. Moungo, with its capital at Nkongsamba.
  2. Nkam, with its capital at Yabassi.
  3. Sanaga-Maritime, with its capital at Édéa.
  4. Wouri, forming the area around the major city of Douala.

These are in turn broken down into subdivisions. Presidentially appointed senior divisional officers (préfets) and subdivisional officers (sous-préfets) govern each. Traditional leaders, usually referred to as chiefs in English, often preside over particular ethnic groups or villages; nevertheless, many of these wield very little power today.

Location of Littoral Region within Cameroon
Coordinates: 4°00′N 10°00′ECoordinates: 4°00′N 10°00′E
Country Cameroon
Capital Douala
Departments Moungo, Nkam, Sanaga-Maritime, Wouri
 • Governor Samuel Ivaha Diboua (2015-)
 • Total 20,248 km2 (7,818 sq mi)
Population (2015)
 • Total 3,354,978
 • Density 170/km2 (430/sq mi)
HDI (2017) 0.673
error: Content is protected !!
Open chat
Powered by
Les Charmes Du Cameroun